h1

XXY

August 21, 2009

raquel jpg 1

Jean Paul Gaultier has always had fun playing with gender. For his Autumn/Winter 2009-10 ad campaign, he continues with this trend, taking advantage of the androgyny of Raquel Zimmermann’s features to showcase her in both masculine and feminine roles. I’ve always been slightly thrown by the strength of her jawline, and so now in this campaign, I absolutely love the way she looks in drag. I actually find myself preferring the way she looks in that guise to her femme look.

Photographed by Inez van Lamsweerde and Vinoodh Matadin.

raquel jpg2

raquel 4

(semi-tangentally: how dystopian-hot are these boots in the picture above? Love them!)
[via]

2 comments

  1. Omg Musie- I love those boots and I am lusting after those jeans! This is a fab shoot.
    I have always loved the androgynous look, but sadly it doesn’t work for me. Just feel that one would need a delicate face and Twiggy’s bod to pull it off well?
    But that doesn’t stop me from trying:)

    I hope the sensibility catches on. It’s been resurfacing for some time, bobbing up once in a while…but doesn’t seem to have really caught on.


  2. that’s great!



Leave a Reply

