h1

Warrior chic

September 3, 2009

eva

The strict opulence of Eva Nyíri’s graduate collection blows me away. It’s what I imagine some badass Victorian girl would wear if she suddenly found herself thrust into the role of a samurai from the future. Or something equally incoherent. The heavy layers and sharp, exaggerated angles convey something almost fetishistic to me– not in the sense of sexiness, though there is a weird, androgynous sexuality to the forms, but more in the sense of a fetishization of the concept of protection and armour. Also, the outfits are just plain cool. I’ll be sure to pack one next time I find myself participating in some bizarro time-travelling event.

eva 2

[via]

Leave a Reply

