h1

Vintage Vogue Covers: 1913-1919

September 4, 2009

april 1, 1918

I was snooping about through the Condé Nast Website when I saw that they had copies of their old covers for sale. The entire selection was most definitely covet-worthy, but what particularly obsessed me were the covers from the nineteen-teens. They give such an interesting look into the world of the time. The illustrations, mainly by Helen Dryden and George Wolfe Plank, are stunningly beautiful by themselves, but it is the subject matter that particularly fascinates me. It’s beautiful to see the profusion of exotic themes, and the prevalence of mythological and folkloric elements. I objectively knew that these were the trends of the decade, but it’s a whole other matter to see them in full colour and to actually imagine women buying these magazines and inserting some of this style into their lives.

I had a little thought process about the lack of any reference to major events of the time period– namely, World War 1– but then I realised that I actually found it reassuring to see Vogue stick so firmly to its escapist guns. Import from France banned? No issue! Fashion goes on.

April 1, 1914

Augu

dec 1, 1913

January 15, 1918

march 15, 1914

November 1, 1915

November 15, 1917

November 1, 1914

July 15, 1914

June 1, 1914

June 15, 1916

March 15, 1919

July 1, 1919

7 comments

  1. I have several of these original issues and they are among my most prized possessions because of their beauty.


    • How lucky! I would cherish them. They’re works of art.


  2. хаха жжёте я аж возбудилась (;


  3. How much would it be if I own one of them pictures?


    • I live in Va…a local thrift shop has 4 covers from the mid teens for sale …it is a non profit store .the profits are used to build houses for low income families..I think they were 20 bucks each….I am not sure if they made reprints…but they are framed and matted by professionals…look great!


  4. Love these! I specially love April and August. 🙂


  5. A lovely selection of covers! Helen Dryden’s work is absolutely beautiful. Re your comments about there being no reference to WWI … well, they must have needed a little escape from the extremely harsh realities of the time they lived in. Beauty is important!



Leave a Reply

