h1

October 8, 2009

3056494409_e70bf274e4

I’ve always loved vintage postcards, and have been thinking about starting a collection of them. I’m enchanted by these insights into the culture of travelling a century ago. Also the compositions and subject matter of these post cards are so much different from the postcards we have today. Or maybe it’s just the black and white that are making me think so.

Anyway, I stumbled across this collection of postcards of Algeria from 1906 in Postalectrice’s photostream on Flickr. They’re all by Jean Geiser. I love them because they’re somehow so simultaneously timeless and of their time. I only wish I could know the stories behind this photographer and his travels. casual Googling reveals only more pictures of Algeria, so presumably he spent a great deal of time there. I guess I’ll have to use my imagination to fill in the holes in his story. How romantic.

3462997625_7249946e17

3229011197_976408ca16

3502323160_2a81b869e03638449103_91d8eb73c9

3789297961_381cdd0aac

3 comments

  1. […] Musie musie.wordpress.com/2009/10/08/1558 – view page – cached I’ve always loved vintage postcards, and have been thinking about starting a collection of them. I’m enchanted by these insights into the culture of travelling a century ago. Also the… (Read more)I’ve always loved vintage postcards, and have been thinking about starting a collection of them. I’m enchanted by these insights into the culture of travelling a century ago. Also the compositions and subject matter of these post cards are so much different from the postcards we have today. Or maybe it’s just the black and white that are making me think so. (Read less) — From the page […]


  2. Postcards are definitely a great way to travel thru history. They capture the subject in a way words only can’t. You might like to browse the foreign postcards at cpaphil.com (an acquaintance’s site).


  3. I love postcards in general, these are pretty cool



Leave a Reply

