h1

October 13, 2009

jarvis

Was listening to Different Class this morning, and was reminded of just how breathlessly I loved Pulp and Jarvis (we’re on first name terms, you know) when I was quite young. I think Pulp might have actually been the first non-pop band I actually discovered by myself, without being told by my parents to listen to something. To give my parents credit, they have fabulous taste in music, so I got a quite thorough grounding in things that are good to listen to. Still, Pulp was all mine. Their music proved to me that I could track down something special all by myself. The fact that Jarvis Cocker was a skinny skinny dreamboat at the time (he’s looking a little unwashed and overly hairy these days) didn’t hurt either.

And as we’re going down musical memory lane, you should all know that the actual first CD I bought myself was CrazySexyCool, by TLC. I liked the cover. Followed closely by Dookie. Dating myself, aren’t I?

Enough reminiscing. Off to work.

3 comments

  1. Gosh, I love Pulp. When I was in my teens I used to go to an indie club and I always remember everyone going crazy and throwing out Jarvis-esque dance moves when common people came on always at the end of the night….


  2. Wait… non-pop? You’re talking about Pulp, right? 😀


  3. Interesting piece, you may like my related musings on Jarvis Cocker, Pulp etc – http://bit.ly/SpiralScratchPulp



Leave a Reply

