h1

Guy Bourdin

October 30, 2009

22418_3_122_596lo

Garance just wrote about going to see an exhibition of Guy Bourdin‘s videos. Guy is one of my favourite photographers, so I thought I’d take the opportunity of being reminded of him to put up one of my favourites of his photos. It always surprises me how fresh his photographs look. This one seems to be telling a story that’s half Thelma and Louise, half Max Headroom. I love the retro-futuristic vibe of the sunglasses.

This was shot for Vogue, but I sadly don’t know any more information about when where who why how. It was a surprisingly hard picture to track down. His pictures are splayed all over web, but they tend to be the more shock-to-the-gut nekkid-lady style photos he is more known for. It’s also really really hard to google. Result is, alas, no information. I’m guessing Vogue Paris, late  1980s? Regardless, a really awesome picture. I want to hang out with these girls. Hand over the sunglasses, and we’ll see what trouble we can get ourselves into.

[via]

3 comments

  1. I am so glad you unearthed it! I haven’t explored Guy Bourdin’s work before…but this images does say a thousand stories. What can one say…sometimes fashion photography transcends the obvious too..and beautifully!


  2. Hi,

    This photography by Guy Bourdin was published in Vogue (Paris), May 1985 issue, page 229. It is an advert for Michèle Lamy glasses. It is part of a set of 5 photos by Guy Bourdin for an article titled “Cinq stylistes en Californie”. I personnaly think it is the best photo of the set. I was looking for an other photo from G.B. which was supposed to be in this issue, but eventually… it isn’t !



Leave a Reply

