h1

Insectarium

October 7, 2009

Insectarium01

I found out about this shoot by Madame Peripetie, entitled “Insectarium”, via the Coilhouse blog. Coilhouse is one of my favourite indie magazines, calling itself “a love letter to alternative culture, written in an era where alt culture no longer exists.” It’s very much to my taste, referencing everything from science fiction to art to fetish culture.  I’m charmed and inspired by everything I see, and hope they stay afloat long enough to gain ground and show us what else they can come up with. I strongly recommend you go out and check it out. Or look at the blog, to get a sense of what it’s about.

Anyway, this shoot completely captured my imagination. It reminds me of an incredibly overblown take on the editorial Tilda Swinton did for Another Magazine, where she interpreted the idea of the traditional curvy female in a variety of ways.  The clothes here and the shoes look like they’re stills from a nightmare, drawn out in ways that morph the human form in new ways. I’d love to see more like this, particularly the shoes. Brings a whole new dimension to the concept of body modification.

Insectarium06

Insectarium03

279268_800_b6d759

307660_800_8e07cf

insectarium07

Leave a comment